New to handguns, new to forum

Discussion in 'New Member Introduction' started by Arctic_Knight, Oct 29, 2012.

1. Arctic_Knight

Arctic_Knight New Member

Hello everyone. I am a shotgun enthusiast from North Carolina. I know next to nothing about handguns, except what I have read on the internet over the last week. I am studying up to buy my first couple of handguns in the near future. I have decided to keep my 870 for home defense upstairs, but I wants a hand gun available downstairs.

I stumbled onto the Caracal brand and it is a brand I am considering. I do not plan to carry, just for home defense. If you have any advice for a handgun newbie, I am hear to learn. Even if you suggest a different brand for my purposes, that is fine.

I have shot handguns a few times, but I am basically a total blank slate. I plan on getting some instruction and training so I may eventually have some knowledge to share back with the forum (at least I hope so!)

Thanks,

2. ddleatherworks

ddleatherworks New Member

3. livewire

livewire New Member

Wlcome to the forum sir,

As to your queries my own humble opinioon are

1. As for handguns, good choice about caracal. I suggest get the quick sight version if its for home defense either a caracal c or caracal f with quick sights. I have shot and owned several handguns in my life and i would definitely say none of then beats caracal when it comes to recoil handling and trigger pull. Accuracy for quick sights are very reliable within 10 to 15yards, which is mostly the distance in real life combat situation.